Official Government Website

Board of Environmental Quality

The Board of Environmental Quality is a rulemaking and advisory body created by the Environmental Protection and Health Act (Idaho Code § 39-107). The Board consists of seven members appointed by the governor to serve 4-year terms.

Powers and Authorities

Rulemaking proceedings and hearings of the Board are governed by the Idaho Administrative Procedure Act (Idaho Code § 67-52).

DEQ is responsible for drafting proposed and temporary rules for consideration by the Board, and Board determinations may be petitioned for judicial review.

Anyone aggrieved by the action or inaction of the department may request a hearing by the Board or a Board-designated hearing officer.

Meet the Members

Members must be citizens of the United States, residents of the state of Idaho, and qualified voters. Appointments must ensure appropriate geographic representation of the state of Idaho. No more than four members may be from any one political party. Two members are chosen for knowledge and interest in solid waste, air quality, and water quality, and one for air, water, and solid waste issues.

Each year, the Board elects a chair, vice chair, and secretary. Five members are necessary for a quorum at any regular or special meeting. The action of the majority of members present constitutes the action of the Board.

Members are paid for their travel and other expenses, plus $50 per day during session and while traveling to and from meetings as provided by Idaho Code § 59-509(h).

Member Business Phone Specialty Term
Kermit Kiebert
Chair (D)
PO Box 970
Ponderay, ID 83852
(208) 264-6401 – Home
(208) 264-6402 – Fax
Air July 1, 2022
Mark Bowen
Vice-Chair (I)
3067 E. Autumn Way
Meridian, ID 83642
(208) 854-5438 – Home Multimedia July 1, 2022
Dr. J. Randy MacMillan
Secretary (R)
1172 Hankins Rd. N.
Twin Falls, ID 83301
(208) 420-7534 Water July 1, 2023
Kevin C. Boling
Member (R)
5881 N. Ferdinand Court
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83814
(208) 661-0909 – Cell
(208) 664-0557 – Fax
Solid Waste July 1, 2023
Nick Purdy
Member (R)
Box 686, Highway 20
Picabo, ID 83348
(208) 720-5150 – Cell
(208) 788-0214 – Fax
Water July 1, 2023
Carol Mascareñas
Member (D)
5000 Baltimore Circle
Idaho Falls, ID 83401
(208) 526-0633 – Bus.
(208) 526-3149 – Fax
Solid Waste July 1, 2020
Beth Elroy
Member (R)
PO Box 6
Mail Stop 01-602
Boise, ID 83707
(208) 363-2235 – Bus.
(208) 368-5555 – Fax
Air July 1, 2020

Send me an email when this page has been updated

ver: 3.4.0 | last updated:
Jump back to top of page button