DRINKING WATER PROGRAM POLICY

DEQ Reference No. DW-03-02

Subject: Drinking Water Penalty Policy
Effective Date: Upon signature of the Director
Citation/Authority: Idaho Statute 39-108

Regional Office Input:

All regional offices were contacted by e-mail about the policy on April 9, 2003. A list of
contacted personnel is provided and includes regional office administrators, drinking
water program managers, and drinking water program personnel.

Attached is a message from the Idaho Falls Regional Office Administrator requesting
that penalty negotiations not be eliminated. To clarify this issue, the goal of the drinking
water program is to reduce or eliminate the time spent on penalty negotiations and
focus efforts on public health risk reduction.

Background and Purpose:

Based on Senior Management'’s directives to collect penalties closer to the assessed
amount and to consider the ability to pay, the drinking water program revised their
penalty assessment practice by Memorandum on August 30, 2001. The practice
assessed a flat fine of $500 plus any avoided analytical costs for systems under 10,000
population. This policy supercedes the August 30, 2001 practice.

The purpose of the revised policy is to assess penalties for each violation as required by
Idaho Statute 39-108(a)(i). The previous practice did not assess a fine for each
violation.

Approved by:

Signed May 19, 2003

C. Stephen Allred Date



Drinking Water Penalty Policy

Goals of Penalty Policy:

1) Consistency and simplicity

2) Assess penalties closer to the collected amount

3) Consider the ability to pay

4) Eliminate/reduce penalty negotiations

Penalties assessed based on size and per violation*

Size of System First Offender Penalty Repeat Offender**
(# of systems): Penalty
$50 per violation plus
<300 persons served avoided costs for $1000 per violation

(1847)

monitoring or fees

Between 500 and 3,300
persons served

$200 per violation plus
avoided costs for monitoring

$2,000 per violation

(150) | or fees
Between 3,300 and 10,000 $500 per violation plus
persons served avoided costs for monitoring | $5,000 per violation
(28) | or fees
Above 10,000 persons $1,000 per violation plus
served avoided costs for monitoring $10,000 per violation
(15) | or fees

*Idaho Statute 39-108(a)(i) states that the notice of violation shall state the amount of civil penalty claimed for
each violation.

** Repeat Offender is any system that has either received an NOV or been under formal enforcement within 5
years of the date of referral for enforcement.

Examples:

Example 1: Small community system serving 75 people in a trailer park is referred for the
following violations: Pb/Cu initial tap sample missed monitoring, NO3 missed monitoring, 1
TCR MCL, failure to notify public on both counts and failure to notify DEQ on both counts.
System does not have a certified operator, did not file a CCR for 2001, and did not pay their
2001 and 2002 fees. The system has not had an NOV or CO in the past 5 years.

Example 2: 4 community water system serving 2000 people is referred for the following

violations: (same as example 1) Pb/Cu initial tap sample missed monitoring, NO3 missed
monitoring for 1 well, I TCR MCL, failure to notify public on both counts and failure to notify
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DEQ on both counts. System does not have a certified operator, did not file a CCR for 2001, and
did not pay their 2001 and 2002 fees. The system has not had an NOV or CO in the past 5 years.

Example 3: A community water system serving 5000 people is referred for the following
violations: (same as example 1) Pb/Cu initial tap sample missed monitoring, NO3 missed
monitoring for 1 well, I TCR MCL, failure to notify public on both counts and failure to notify
DEQ on both counts. System does not have a certified operator, did not file a CCR for 2001, and
did not pay their 2001 and 2002 fees. The system has not had an NOV or CO in the past 5 years.

Example 4: The same system in example 1 did have a previous CO. The violations are the same
as in example 1 but the Repeat Offender Penalty now applies

. Example 2: Example 3: Example 4:
Violation Tvpe Es’;?)mplel L] 2500 & <3300 | >3,300 & <500 people &
yp $50/ .peioi). N people <10,000 people | repeat offender
viotation $200/violation $500/violation $1000/violation

Pb & Cu Initial Tap $145 $580 $1260 $1,095
($9.50 each Pb & $9.50
each Cu)
NO3 FTM* ($16) $66 $216 $516 $1,016
FTN Dept for Pb/Cu $50 $200 $500 $1,000
FTN* Dept for NO3 $50 $200 $500 $1,000
Public Notification for $50 $200 $500 $1,000
NO3
Public Notification for $50 $200 $500 $1,000
Pb/Cu
MCL* for TCR* $50 $200 $500 $1,000
Operator Certification $50 $200 $500
CCR* $50 $200 $500 $1,000
Fees $200 $4,200 $10,500 $1,150
Total: $761 $6,396 $15,276 $9.,261

*FTM = failure to monitor
FTN = failure to notify
TCR = total coliform rule

MCL = maximum contaminant level

CCR = consumer confidence report
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