
Frequently Asked Questions for the Automotive Coating 
Operations General Permit 

 
1. What types of coating operations are subject to permitting in Idaho? 
 

If you own a facility that applies paint to vehicles as a commercial business you are subject to 
air permitting requirements in the State of Idaho. 
 

2. What if I paint my personal vehicle in my garage or shop? 
 

A one time occurrence would not require an air permit. 
 

3. Is there a minimum amount of painting that can be performed that would be exempt from air 
permitting requirements in the State of Idaho? 

 
If your facility uses a maximum of 1.25 gallons or less per day for all coating materials 
(including but not limited to pre-treatment wash primers, primers, topcoats, clear coats, 
reducers, and hardeners) your facility may be exempt from air permitting requirements. This 
allowance is subject to specific limitations so please contact Idaho DEQ at 1-877-5PERMIT 
for additional information. 
 

4. I have heard that there are there new Federal EPA requirements for automotive coating 
facilities, is this true? 

 
Yes, facilities that apply paint to automobiles as a commercial business are subject to new 
Federal EPA air pollution requirements. These Federal requirements are collectively known 
as “Subpart 6H.” 
 

5. If I get an Idaho DEQ air permit, will I have to get an additional air permit from EPA? 
 

No, the Idaho DEQ air permit will incorporate Federal Subpart 6H requirements into the 
permit. 
 

6. What is the cost to get an Idaho DEQ Automotive Coating general permit for my facility? 
 

The application fee is $1,000 and the processing fee is $500 for a total of $1,500. The entire 
$1,500 fee must be paid upon submittal of the application. 
 

7. Will there be a grace period to apply for applying for the Automotive Coating general permit 
without incurring penalties for operation without a permit? 

 
Yes, DEQ recognizes the current economic challenges that face small businesses. Therefore, 
facilities will have until December 31, 2010 to apply for a permit. The grace period will allow 
businesses the opportunity to come into compliance without incurring penalties that could 
have a financial impact on their operations. 
 

8. Is there an on-going annual fee associated with the air permit? 
 

No, currently there are no on-going annual permit fees for this air permit. 



 
9. Does the permit expire? 
 

The Automotive Coating general permit does not have an expiration date. 
 

10. The Automotive Coating general permit requires that all coating activities take place in a 
booth or a preparation station with filter system in place, exhaust fan(s) operating, and 
door(s) or curtain(s) closed. What are the definitions of a paint booth and a preparation 
station? 
 
For complete vehicles the booth must be fully enclosed with a full roof, and four complete 
walls or complete side curtains, and must be ventilated at negative pressure so that air is 
drawn into any openings in the booth walls or side curtains. 
 
For coating miscellaneous parts and products or vehicle subassemblies the preparation station 
must have a full roof, at least three complete walls or complete side curtains, and must be 
ventilated so that air is drawn into the preparation station. 
 

11. What if I paint vehicles other than cars or trucks at my facility? 
 
Most likely you would need to apply for a tailored air permit for your facility. Please contact 
Idaho DEQ at 1-877-5PERMIT for additional information. 
 

12. The Automotive Coating general permit limits the maximum coating material usage to a 
maximum of 4.0 gallons or less per day. What if my facility needs to use more than 4.0 
gallons per day of coating materials? 

 
You would need to apply for a tailored air permit for your facility. Please contact Idaho DEQ 
at 1-877-5PERMIT for additional information. 
 

13. What if my facility already has an air permit issued by DEQ for my painting operation? 
 

If you have a permitted automotive coating facility that will use a maximum of 4.0 gallons or 
less per day for all coating materials, you can apply to modify your current permit and 
receive the Automotive Coating general permit. Please note that you will have to pay the one 
time $1,500 application and processing fee. 
 

14. What if I need to modify my Automotive Coating general permit at some time in the future? 
 

Applications to modify a permit require a $1,000 application fee.  There is also a processing 
fee, which varies from $250 to $10,000, which will be assessed when the project is 
completed. 
 


