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15t Meeting Q&A Follow-Up

e What Is the hierarchy of prescribed fire
laws/rules/regulations and where will

DEQ’s rules fall in t
— Good Neighbor Aut

NIS?
nority

— Shared Stewardshi

0 Agreement

* Does a naturally ignited fire that Is allowed
to burn for land management reasons fall
under the DEQ prescribed fire rules?
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15t Meeting Q&A Follow-Up

 What do the smoke management plans
look like In our surrounding states?
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Classification of Burn/Burner

Registration/Permits

Reguest to Burn

Education/Training

Land managers of more
than 50 acres must submit
a "burn schedule” yearly;
"large burns” must submit

Yes - large burns (over 20
acres/day) must submit

Utah Size of single day burn burn plan 2 weeks prior request and be approved No
Over 100 tons of material |Yes - large burns must
burned at a single site in 24 |request; small burns must
Based on size of single site hours near communities follow daily instructions by
Washington |burnin 24 hours period must register DNR (hotline or website) No
Oregon Based on location of burn Registrations Yes Mo
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Classification of Burn/Burner

Registration/Permits

Request to Burn

Education/Training

Majors and Minors -
determined by level of

Yes - Majors comply with
MIAG, minors approval is

No - but must
understand smoke

Montana emissions produced yearly Yes - permits for Majors seasonal control technigues
Yes - large burns (greater
than 10 tons of PM10
Yes - permits 2 weeks to 30 |emitted) must get approval,
Total emissions from a single |days prior depending on small must "notify” one day
Nevada day burn size of burn prior No
Yes - registrations for burns Yes - large burners
Total emissions from a single |larger than 2 tons PM10 No - must notify DEQ prior |must have smoke
Wyoming day burn per day to ignition management education
Yes - state and federal Yes - must submit burn plan |No - pre-season
required - everyone must |2 weeks in advance for coordination meeting
State and federal required to |attend a pre-season review and request burn where emission goals
Arizona register coordination meeting daily are established
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Smoke Management Program Elements

e Authorization to burn

e Minimizing air pollutant emissions

e Burn plans — smoke management components
e Public education and awareness
e Survelllance and Enforcement

 Program evaluation or audit
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Basic Smoke Management Practices

« Evaluate smoke dispersion conditions to minimize
Impacts

« Monitor effects of fire on air quality

* Record basic smoke management practices, fire activity,
and effects

« Communicate and notify authorities and affected public
o Utilize emission reduction techniques whenever possible

e Collaborate with nearby burners to manage smoke
emissions
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Rule Concepts

Meet smoke management elements and
Incorporate practices

Leverage the MT/ID Airshed Group where
possible

Possibly “Certify” Airshed Group as
meeting DEQ’s rules

DEQ approval to burn

ldaho Department of Environmental Quality



Rule Concepts

Year-round process
Smoke management training for burners
Development of Operations Guide

Advisory committee for ongoing
stakeholder involvement

More emissions = more requirements
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Delineation of Burner Types

 Major Burner
— Burn more than 2,250 tons material per year

e Minor Burner
— Burn less than 2,250 tons material per year
— Burn Category 1
* More than 100 tons material per day

— Burn Category 2
* Between 2 and 100 tons material per day

— Burn Category 3
e Less than 2 tons material per day
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Major Burners

These burners use prescribed fire on a
regular basis

Federal and state land managers

Individuals that own or lease large parcels
of land

Same requirements regardless of size of
iIndividual burns
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Major Burner Requirements

Annual Registration
— Information similar to Airshed Group database

Pre-season meeting with DEQ

— Review registered burns, identify complex smoke
Issues

Request to burn business day prior

Burn boss is “certified burner” for smoke
— RX410 Training Course or similar

Burn only with DEQ approval
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Major Burner Requirements

Reqguest spot weather forecast with smoke
dispersion information morning of burn

Burn boss to verify and record weather
conditions prior to ignition

Monitor smoke dispersion

Provide adequate communication and
notification to surrounding area

Report acres burned to DEQ
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Minor Burners

Does not meet definition of Major Burner

These burners don’t burn frequently
throughout the year

Can burn large amount in a single day

3 categories of requirements based on
size of Iindividual burn at a single site in a
24 hour period
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Minor Burner General Requirements

 Take DEQ Smoke Management Training
every > years

e Burn only with DEQ approval
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Minor Burner — Burn Category 1

Register individual burn
Request to burn business day prior
Burn with DEQ approval

Request spot weather forecast related to smoke
dispersion

Person responsible for burn to verify and record
weather conditions prior to ignition

Monitor smoke dispersion
Report acres burned to DEQ
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Minor Burner — Burn Category 2

Request to burn one business day prior
Burn on designated burn day
Monitor smoke dispersion

Report acres burned to DEQ
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Minor Burners — Burn Category 3

* Follow restrictions on DEQ Open Burning
Map

 Encourage use of good smoke
management practices
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DEQ Burn Approval Process
Major, Minor Category 1 & 2

* Protection of the NAAQS by evaluating the
following:

Duration of burn

e Current and forecasted
air quality
 EXxpected Emissions

* Proximity to other burns Meteorological Conditions

 Acreage, burn type, fuel
load and characteristics

Proximity to communities

 Elevation Other relevant factors
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DEQ Burn Approval Process
Minor Category 3

« DEQ has not issued a Stage 1 Air
Pollution Forecast and Caution — which
bans all open burning

 Local ordinance iIs not triggered which
bans open burning
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DEQ Notification Process

* Proposed, approved, and completed burns
available online

e Post weather forecast on website
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Next Meeting: June 20th
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